Sunday, February 2, 2014

Introduction to Chakras

Chakra is Sanskrit for "wheel" and are featured in the tantric and yogic traditions of Hinduism and Buddhism. The Chakras, sometimes called Wheels of Life or Wheels of Energy, are subtle energy points in the body through which Prana or life force move through. The seven main Chakras (there are hundreds more smaller chakra points throughout the body) run ascending along the spinal column from it's base and all the way up to the crown of the head.

The Chakras can hold spiritual, physical, emotional and mental memories/energy as the life force flows through the body. Chakras transform energy from the physical world through to the higher levels of consciousness. The Chakras receive information from the world around us, including other people, through vibrational waves. This is why often the world around us, and other people's moods can affect us.

Chakras can become unbalanced, showing either a draining in their connective power, or a surplus of that energy. There are many ways to bring the Chakras back into balance, such as meditation, yoga, or little things that are specific to each Chakra. For instance a weak Throat Chakra can be made stronger and balanced through singing, chanting, or wearing Lapis Lazuli.

The Chakras are as follows:

Root Chakra/ Muladhara
  • Located at the base of the spine
  • Color is red
  • Prime function is grounding, security and survival
  • Sound to chant - LAM
  • Element - Earth
  • Gemstones - Hematite, Bloodstone, Red Jasper, Garnet, Ruby
  • Herb/Fragrance - Cinnamon, Cedar

Sacral Chakra/ Svadhisthana
  • Located below the navel
  • Color is orange
  • Prime function is relationships, sexuality, emotional needs
  • Sound to chant - VAM
  • Element - Water
  • Gemstones - Coral, Carnelian
  •  Herb/Fragrance - Saffron, Orange/Citrus, Ylang Ylang

Solar Plexus Chakra/ Manipura
  • Located at the navel area
  • Color is yellow
  • Prime function is energy, willpower, personal power
  • Sound to chant - RAM
  • Element - Fire
  • Gemstones - Amber, Citrine
  • Herb/Fragrance - Cedar, Lemon

Heart Chakra/ Anahata
  •  Located within the heart area
  • Color is green
  • Prime function is esteem, forgiveness, love, respecting self and others
  • Sound to chant - YAM
  • Element - Air
  • Gemstones - Emerald, Jade, Malachite
  • Herb/Fragrance - Rose

Throat Chakra/ Vishuddha
  • Located in the neck/throat area
  • Color is blue
  • Prime function is speech, expression, creativity, communication
  • Sound to chant - HAM
  • Element - Ether
  • Gemstones - Lapis Lazuli, Turquoise, Azurite, Angelite
  • Herb/Fragrance - Eucalyptus, Sandalwood

Third Eye Chakra/ Ajna
  • Located above/between eyebrows
  • Color is Indigo
  • Prime function is intuition, understanding, psychic sense, imagination
  • Sound to chant - OM/AUM
  • Element - Light/Spirit
  • Gemstones - Amethyst, Sodalite, Lapis Lazuli
  • Herb/Fragrance - Lavendar

Crown Chakra/ Sahasrara
  • Located at the top of the head
  • Color is Violet
  • Prime function is enlightenment, spiritual, consciousness, harmony, compassion, wisdom
  • Sound to chant - NG
  • Element - Thought/Universe
  • Gemstones - Amethyst, Clear Quartz, Tourmaline, Moonstone, Selenite, Desert Rose
  • Herb/Fragrance - Jasmine, Lotus, Peony